Project: Kid Comms

Hi Mesh Community!

Let me start by saying I’m new to this & am looking for feedback, insight, & ideas. I hope this project inspires other parents, & like-minded people. (If only just to start a well-meaning conversation…it’s worth it!). :smiley:

Full disclosure: I am not affiliated with any app, hardware or company of mention in the below!

Project Name: Kid Comms
Intent: Enable my 9-year-old son to effectively communicate via an old cell phone (Using goTennas) when he walks to school & back for safety check-ins. Help him build confidence & teach him technology responsibly.
Content: I want to experiment & share how/if the goTenna will work in my application & intent.

I’m a bit early to post findings or comment (Due to I just ordered a 4 pack of goTennas yesterday.) but being how all good projects are staged out, I will start early while I can, and report on different stages.

Stage 1: Setup my old Samsung Galaxy Note 5 for my son to use appropriately.
Stage 2: Test goTenna range & reliability in my geographical setting for this project’s specific need.
Stage 3: Implement communication procedures based on stage-2.
Stage 4: Implement a test run in a live environment (My Son walking to school.)
Stage 5: Final assessment.
Stage 6: Full implementation.

Currently, stage 1 is complete.

Assesment of Stage 1:
Dug up my old phone (Galaxy Note 5) and got to work.
Took out the old SIM card > Factory default > Update to the latest firmware (Android 7) > Create a new Gmail account > uninstalled as much bloatware as possible > researched how to lock down all apps & functions besides the following:
Contacts Helpful for him to know my + wife’s number.
Gotenna For the obvious reason.
Camera I don’t see too much harm in this.
Gallery To view photos.
Voice recorder Press > record a local conversation. Maybe handy?
Clock Obvious.
Calculator Again, Obvious.
S-note Handy.