Relay Nodes/Base Stations

Hello everyone, my name is Austin and I am new to the Mesh community.
I think the GoTenna Mesh idea is very cool, and I love a decentralized network. It is even more amazing that other GTMs act as repeaters, making these a step above PTT radios. GoTenna combines a universal way to communicate, as opposed to buying a radio, and then knowing what frequencies to be on in your area.
With that being said… I have been thinking of ways, and locations to set up relay nodes around my area to build the network, but after a while I started to think, isn’t it silly that we are using GoTenna mesh units as relays. Retro-fitting them with batteries, solar panels and making sure they’re waterproof. Why though? It’s as we are making due with what we have because the company sells its products and provides 0 support afterwards and doesn’t aim to satisfy customer needs.
But… that’s not the case. GoTenna is very active with their customers, talking with them, helping them and getting feedback on their products. The company seems very forward thinking, and I see the co-founder and CEO very active on the forums, helping anyone she can. She believes in the product and wants to help her customers.
So I guess my question is, if we have such a helpful and supportive company by our side, why are we trying to build a network with jury-rigged devices to act as relays (repeaters) that also act as base stations for some, and portable units for others?