Solar panel for powered relay

Hello, I’m new to goTenna. I picked up a pair to try it and liked it so I put one in my attic as a powered relay, marked it on the node map. I’ve been reading all of your great ideas on how to make outside relay stations and figured out it’s best to have a battery buffer so it won’t shut off by running out of battery on cloudy days.

It’s a bit more expensive but has anyone tried the biolite 5 watt with built in battery?

Would putting the relay outside make much of a difference that it’s worth the trouble? I have power inside my attic so it was easy to plug in and it’s powered hanging from a lanyard up there right now.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

The Biolite will work. goTenna has used them before for some experimental installs.

I’ve been using a certain battery pack I get from banggood.com and it has proven reliable. It has the instant on feature which supplies power when it senses a load. In any case, what you want is a battery pack that can both take a charge and supply a load at the same time.

Recently, I found a new battery pack and found it to be every bit as good as the one I’ve just mentioned and written up several times, and it’s priced a little better, too, although both are very affordable. You can see it here:
https://www.banggood.com/8000mah-Solar-Chargers-Solar-Power-Bank-8000mah-Portable-Solar-Battery-Charger-Phone-Charger-Power-Bank-with-Flashlight-p-1461547.html?rmmds=myorder&ID=515947&cur_warehouse=CN

For the panel itself, I recommend going with at least a 6 W panel if you’re around 40 degrees north latitude.