Introduction : How best to utilize goTenna Mesh?

Hi folks! SE Idaho here.

I’m new to the GoTenna Community. I was familiar with the product before the mesh units, but then saw a video for the added mesh capability which is a game changer. Currently, in my city, we have a few users, but no stationary nodes. It is my objective to loop enough friends in to get a mesh network that covers the city, about 10 miles across. I live in a mountain community and will be trying to get stationary units plugged into all-weather solar panels of some variety at the highest points I can. I just received my first two units and my wife and I will be testing them out with each other. What are your recommendations for utilization for an always-on network?

2 Likes

Welcome! Idaho is beautiful. Visited Boise once for a conference about a decade back, would like to return and see more of it.

For some examples of how others are working at this, see my Urbana thread.
https://community.gotennamesh.com/t/urbana-illinois-now-a-gotenna-mesh-ambassador-city/1660

I’ve tried a lot of different things, nothing exotic really and towards the current end of the thread you can see what I’m working with now. Idaho is generally just a little farther north than Illinois, so solar solutions that work here should be in the ballpark for use there.

The key to this is reliable power in the form of a suitable battery pack (at least 4,000 mAh, preferably more), fed by about 6 watts or more of solar panel inside a weather-tight container. Node spacing should be on the order of about a half-mile radius. Access to a particularly high point can substantially increase range.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Mike. How do you manage your nodes to tell when they’re online?